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  NPDES Number: VTG910001 
 

STATE OF VERMONT 
AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION 
 
 

GENERAL PERMIT 3-9004 
DISCHARGES FROM PETROLEUM RELATED REMEDIATION ACTIVITIES 

 
 

PART I.  COVERAGE UNDER THIS PERMIT 
 
A. Discharges Covered 
 

This permit covers discharges from petroleum related remediation activities to all Class B waters 
within the State of Vermont, including all waters of the United States (including wetlands) within the 
State of Vermont to the extent provided by Section 1-01A of the Vermont Water Quality Standards, 
with the exception of Outstanding Resource Waters and Class One Wetlands.  Petroleum related 
remediation activities include, but are not limited to, the discharge of one or more of the following:  
ground and/or surface water from remediation systems; ground and/or surface water accumulating as a 
result of excavation activity; ground and/or surface water contaminated by spills; ground water 
resulting from pumping and/or monitoring aquifer(s).  All of the previously mentioned discharges 
result from corrective actions involving above ground or underground storage tanks used to store 
gasoline, diesel fuel, kerosene, jet fuel, or heating oil, or the transportation of these fuels.      
                                                                                                                 

B.    Discharges Not Covered 
 
       The following discharges from petroleum related remediation activities are not covered by this permit: 
 

1.   Discharges from federally owned facilities. 
2.   Discharges to groundwater. 
3. Discharges to Class A Waters. 
4. Discharges to Outstanding Resource Waters and Class One Wetlands. 
5. Discharges from petroleum related remediation activities that are mixed with or contaminated 

by any other wastes or discharges.    
  
C. Authorization 
  
 Any person who wishes to obtain authorization to discharge from petroleum related remediation 

activities under this general permit shall follow the application requirements in Part II. 
 
 

PART II.  APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 
 
A. Notice of Intent Forms and Fee 
 

Application for coverage under this permit shall be made by filing a Notice of Intent (NOI) on forms 
provided by the Secretary.  The completed and signed NOI shall be filed with the Agency of Natural 
Resources, together with an administrative fee ($120.00 as of 7/1/12; fees are established by 3 V.S.A. 
§2822 and may be changed by statute revisions) at the following address: 
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Agency of Natural Resources 
Department of Environmental Conservation 
Watershed Management Division 
One National Life Drive, Main Bldg, 2nd Flr 
Montpelier, VT 05620-3522 

                                                                                                                                                              
B. Public Notice of NOI 
 

Any person who files a NOI shall provide notice, on a form provided by the Secretary, to the 
municipal clerk of the municipality in which the discharge is located at the time the NOI is filed with 
the Secretary. 

 
C.  Public Comments on NOI  
 

Per 10 VSA Section 1263(b), the Secretary shall provide an opportunity for written comment 
regarding whether the NOI complies with the terms and conditions of this permit for 10 days 
following the receipt of the NOI. 
 

D. Additional Information 
 

Within sixty days following a request of the Secretary, any person who files a NOI shall submit such 
additional information that may be necessary to enable the Secretary to authorize the discharge under 
the terms of this permit. 

 
E. Requiring An Individual Permit 
 

The Secretary may require any person who files a NOI to apply for an individual permit if: 
1. the maximum daily design flow exceeds 50,000 gpd or the proposed discharge is to a receiving 

water with a watershed area less than 1.0 square miles at the point of discharge; or 
2. the discharge does not qualify for coverage under this permit; or 
3. the Secretary finds that an individual permit is required pursuant to 13.12.D. of the General 

Permit Rules. 
 
F.    Coverage under Existing Individual Permits                                                                                                    

 
Persons who are authorized to discharge from petroleum related remediation activities by an existing 
individual permit are not required to obtain coverage under this permit during the term of the 
individual permit.    
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

G. Authorization to Discharge 
 

Any person who files a NOI shall be authorized to discharge under the terms of this permit upon the 
receipt of a written determination by the Secretary that the NOI filing is complete, and the discharge is 
eligible for coverage under the terms and conditions of this general permit. 

 
H. Failure to Notify 
 

Dischargers who fail to notify the Secretary of their intent to be covered under this permit or fail to 
obtain authorization to discharge under an individual permit, and who discharge to waters of the State 
without a permit, are in violation of 10 V.S.A. Chapter 47 and the federal Clean Water Act. 
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PART III.  EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 
 
A.    Effluent Limitations and Monitoring Frequency                                                                                   
 
 During the period beginning on October 1, 2012, through September 30, 2017, the permittee is 

authorized to discharge from each discharge point specified on the NOI – Treated petroleum 
contaminated water - in accordance with the following limitations and monitoring requirements. 

 
 
                   Discharge Limitations                                  Monitoring Requirements (1,2) 
 

Effluent Characteristic 
 
Monthly Average 

 
Monitoring 
Frequency 

 
Sample  

Type 
 
Flow 

 
See (3) Below 

 
1 x monthly 

 
Measured Total (4) 

 
Benzene (5,6) 

 
5 ppb 

 
2 x monthly 

 
Grab 

 
Total BTEX (5,6) 

 
50 ppb 

 
2 x monthly 

 
Grab 

 
Total Petroleum 
Hydrocarbons (TPH) (5,6,7) 

 
1000 ppb 

 
2 x monthly 

 
Grab 

 
Methyl tert-butyl ether 
(MTBE) (6) 

 
Monitor only 

 
2 x monthly 

 
Grab 

 
(1) Discharges lasting less than two weeks in duration shall be sampled a minimum of two times (twice) 

for those parameters listed in the table above. 
 
(2) Where there are multiple discharge points, monitoring for the above parameters is required for each 

discharge point.  

 
(3) The flow discharged shall not exceed the design capability of the treatment system. 

 
       (4) Flow shall be reported as the total gallons discharged since the last meter reading.  Flows may be 

measured or estimated by use of integrating timers on pumps, or by use of a weir or flume and a 
continuous recording flow meter. 

 
                  (5) If sample results indicate that the effluent does not meet the specified limitations an additional 

effluent sample shall be taken within 7 days of receiving the sample results and analyzed for 
Benzene and Total BTEX as well as TPH, if applicable.  See also Part III.B4. 

 
(6) Total BTEX shall be measured as the sum of benzene, ethylbenzene, toluene, and xylenes.  EPA 

method 8021B or other EPA approved methodology shall be used for the measurements of benzene, 
ethlybenzene, toluene, and xylenes, including ortho-, meta-, and para-xylene. Modified EPA method 
8015 or other EPA approved methodology shall be used to measure TPH.  EPA method 8021B or 
other EPA approved methodology shall be used to measure MTBE. 
 

(7) TPH monitoring is required if the source is diesel, heating oil, kerosene, and/or jet fuel. 
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B. Influent Monitoring 
 
 1. The permittee shall monitor the influent to the treatment system for the parameters listed in 

Condition III.A. above at a minimum frequency of once per month.   
 
 2. For discharges lasting less than two weeks in duration, the permittee shall monitor the influent 

to the treatment system for the parameters listed in Condition III.A. above a minimum of one 
time. 

 
C.    Special Conditions 
 

1.  Effluent samples shall be taken after final treatment and prior to discharge to waters of the 
State and prior to mixing with other discharges.  

 
2. If the permittee employs carbon adsorption canisters, either as part or all of the treatment 

system necessary to meet the effluent limitations specified in Part III.A.  above, the permittee 
shall replace the first carbon adsorption canister prior to breakthrough of dissolved 
hydrocarbons.  The time of breakthrough shall be calculated based on flow data developed 
from pump tests and analysis of untreated contaminated groundwater.  The calculated 
breakthrough time shall be utilized as a schedule for replacing and rotating the carbon 
adsorption units unless ongoing analyses demonstrate that a different breakthrough time 
interval is appropriate in order to meet the effluent limitations specified in Part III.A. above.  
The dates of carbon canister replacement shall be reported on form WR-43.   

 
3.  If the permittee employs air strippers, either as part or all of the treatment system necessary to 

meet the effluent limitations specified in Part III.A. above, the permittee shall clean the air 
strippers on a regular basis as appropriate and report the dates of the cleaning(s) on form WR-
43.      

         
 4. Should this discharge exceed the effluent limitations specified in Part III.A. above at any time,  

then permittee shall: 
 
  a. Notify the Watershed Management Division within 24 hours at anr.wsmd@state.vt.us; 
 
  b. Submit a written report within 5 days detailing the reason(s) for the violation and the 

procedures to be employed so that the discharge will once again be in compliance with the 
effluent limitations; and 

 
  c. The Watershed Management Division will evaluate the situation on a case-by-case basis 

and may require the permittee to cease discharging until such time as treatment has been 
restored to a level that will consistently meet the effluent limitations. 

 
5.    The discharge shall not cause erosion or contain sediment which causes or contributes to a 

violation of water quality standards of the receiving water. 
         

6. The discharge shall not contain a visible sheen, foam, or floating solids at any time. 
  
7. The discharge shall not cause a visible discoloration of the receiving water. 

 
8.    The discharge shall not cause or contribute to a violation of water quality standards of the 

receiving water. 
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9. This permit does not authorize the discharge of water treatment additives without approval 

from the Agency.  Water treatment additives include any material that is added to water used at 
the facility or to wastewater generated by the facility to condition or treat the water.  In the 
event a permittee proposes to utilize water treatment additives, the permittee shall submit to the 
Agency, for review and written approval, a request, including Material Safety Data Sheets 
(MSDS), to discharge water treatment additives.  

 
D.    Operating Fees 
 

Discharges authorized by this permit are subject to operating fees.  The permittee shall submit the 
operating fees in accordance with the procedures provided by the Secretary. 

 
E.    Monitoring and Reporting                      

 
The Permittee is required to submit monitoring results as specified on a Discharge Monitoring Report 
(Form WR-43).  Reports are due on the 15th day of each month beginning with the month following 
the date of authorization to discharge under this permit. 

 
If, in any reporting period, there has been no discharge, the permittee must submit that information by 
the report due date. Signed copies of these, and all other reports required herein, shall be submitted to 
the Secretary at the following address: 

                              
Agency of Natural Resources 
Department of Environmental Conservation 
Watershed Management Division 
One National Life Drive, Main Bldg, 2nd Flr 
Montpelier, VT 05620-3522 

 
        All reports shall be signed: 

 
1. In the case of corporations, by a principal executive officer of at least the level of vice 

president, or his/her duly authorized representative, if such representative is responsible for 
the overall operation of  the facility from which the discharge described in the permit form 
originates. 

 
2. In the case of a partnership, by a general partner. 

 
3.    In the case of a sole proprietorship, by the proprietor. 

 
4. In the case of a municipal, State, or other public facility, by either a principal executive 

officer, ranking elected official, or other duly authorized employee. 
 
F.    Sampling and Analysis 
  

The sampling, preservation, handling, and analytical methods used shall conform to regulations 
published pursuant to Section 304(g) of the Clean Water Act, as specified in the most current revisions 
of the Code of Federal Regulations, Title 40, Part 136. 

 
Samples shall be representative of the volume and quality of effluent discharged over the sampling 
and reporting period. All samples are to be taken during normal operating hours. The permittee shall 
identify the effluent sampling location used for each discharge.  
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The permittee shall calibrate and perform maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 
instrumentation at regular intervals to ensure accuracy of measurements or shall ensure that both 
activities are conducted.   
 
The permittee shall keep records of these activities and shall provide such records upon request of the 
Secretary. 
 

G.    Recording of Results 
 

The permittee shall maintain records of all information resulting from any monitoring activities 
required including: 

 
1.   The exact place, date, and time of sampling; 
2.   The dates and times the analyses were performed; 
3.   The person(s) who performed the analyses; 
4.   The analytical techniques and methods used including sample collection handling and 

preservation techniques; 
5.   The results of all required analyses; 
6.   The records of monitoring activities and results, including all instrumentation and calibration and 

maintenance records; and 
7.  The original calculation and data bench sheets of the operator who performed analysis of the 

influent or effluent pursuant to requirements of Part III.A. of this permit. 
 

The results of monitoring requirements shall be reported (in the units specified) on the Discharge 
Monitoring Report form WR-43 or other form approved by the Secretary.        

                                            
H.     Additional Monitoring by Permittee 
 

If the permittee monitors any pollutant at the location(s) designated herein more frequently than 
required by this permit, using approved analytical methods as specified above, the results of such 
monitoring shall be included in the calculation and reporting of the values required on the Discharge 
Monitoring Report form WR-43. Such increased frequency shall also be indicated. 

 
I.    Records Retention 
 

All records and information resulting from the monitoring activities required by this permit including 
all records of analyses performed, calibration and maintenance of instrumentation, and recordings 
from continuous monitoring instrumentation shall be retained for a minimum of three (3) years, and 
shall be submitted to Department representatives upon request.  This period shall be extended during 
the course of unresolved litigation regarding the discharge of pollutants or when requested by the 
Secretary. 
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PART IV.  STANDARD CONDITIONS 
 
A.    Duty to Comply 
 

The permittee shall comply with all terms and conditions of this permit.  Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of 10 V.S.A. Chapter 47 and the federal Clean Water Act and is grounds for an 
enforcement action, or suspension, or revocation of the permittee's authorization to discharge under 
this permit. 
 

B.     Noncompliance Notification 
 

In the event the permittee is unable to comply with any of the conditions of this permit due, among 
other reasons, to: 

 
1. breakdown or maintenance of waste treatment equipment (biological and physical-chemical 

systems including, but not limited to, all pipes, transfer pumps, compressors, collection ponds or 
tanks for the segregation of treated or untreated wastes, ion exchange columns, or carbon 
absorption units), 

 
2.   accidents caused by human error or negligence, or 

 
3.   other causes such as acts of nature, 

 
the permittee shall notify the Secretary within 24 hours of becoming aware of such condition or 
by the next business day and shall provide the Secretary with the following information, in 
writing, within five (5) days: 

 
a.  cause of non-compliance; 

 
b. a description of the non-complying discharge including its impact upon the receiving 

water; 
 

c.  anticipated time the condition of non-compliance is expected to continue or, if such 
condition has been corrected, the duration of the period of non-compliance; 

 
d.   steps taken by the permittee to reduce and eliminate the non-complying discharge; and 

 
e.   steps to be taken by the permittee to prevent recurrence of the condition of 

non-compliance. 
 
C.    Operation and Maintenance 
 

The permittee shall, at all times, maintain in good working order and operate as efficiently as possible 
all treatment or control facilities or systems installed or used by the permittee to achieve compliance 
with the terms and conditions of this permit. The operation and maintenance of this facility shall be 
performed only by qualified personnel.  
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D. Bypass 
 

The diversion or bypass of facilities, necessary to maintain compliance with the terms and conditions 
of this permit, is prohibited, except where authorized under terms and conditions of an emergency 
pollution permit issued pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Section 1268. 

 
E.   Solids Management 
      

Collected screenings, sludges, and other solids removed in the course of treatment and control of 
wastewaters shall be stored, treated and disposed of in accordance with the terms and conditions of 
any certification, interim or final, transitional operation authorization or order issued pursuant to 10 
V.S.A. Chapter 159 that is in effect on the effective date of this permit or is issued during the term of 
this permit.   
 

F.     Duty to Mitigate 
 

The permittee shall take all reasonable steps to minimize or prevent any adverse impact to waters of 
the State resulting from non-compliance with any condition specified in this permit, including 
accelerated or additional monitoring as necessary to determine the nature and impact of the 
non-complying discharge. 

 
G.    Duty to Reapply 
 

If a discharge authorized under this permit is anticipated to continue after the expiration date of this 
permit, the permittee must reapply for coverage under a new permit 30 days prior to the expiration 
date of this permit. 

 
H.   Continuation of the Expired General Permit 
 

Provided the permittee has reapplied in accordance with Section IV.G. of this permit, the permittee’s 
coverage under the expired permit continues in force and effect until a new general permit is issued. 
Only those facilities previously authorized to discharge under the expired permit are covered by the 
continued permit. 

 
I.     Requiring a General Permit  
 

The Secretary may require any person applying for reissuance of an individual permit to be subject to 
a  general permit provided the Secretary finds the discharge complies with all the conditions of the 
general permit and the discharge is more appropriately covered under the general permit. 

 
J.     Termination of Coverage  
 

Upon elimination of a discharge authorized under this permit any permittee may request that coverage 
under this permit be terminated by submittal of a completed and signed Request for Termination of 
Coverage Form to the Secretary.  Coverage under this permit shall be terminated upon receipt of a 
written determination by the Secretary that the Request for Termination of Coverage filing is complete 
and the discharge has been eliminated.   
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K.     Transfer of Authorization to Discharge 
 

             Any permittee may transfer the authorization to discharge under this permit by submittal of a 
completed and signed Transfer of Authorization to Discharge Form to the Secretary. The notice 
shall be submitted 30 days prior to the proposed date of transfer and shall include the following:  

 
1. The name and address of the present permittee;  
2. the name and address of the prospective permittee;  
3. the proposed date of transfer; and  
4. a statement signed by the prospective permittee, stating that:   
 

  a.   The conditions of the facility operation that contribute to, or affect, the discharge will 
not be materially different under the new ownership; 

 
  b. he/she has read and is familiar with the terms of the permit and agrees to comply with 

all terms and conditions of the permit; and 
 

      c.   he/she has adequate funding to operate and maintain the treatment system and remain 
in compliance with the terms and conditions of the permit. 

 
L.    Modification of General Permit   
                                                                                                           

After notice and opportunity for public hearing this permit may be modified in accord with Section 
13.12.C.7 (General Permit Rules) of the Vermont Water Pollution Control Permit Regulations. 

 
M.    Revocation of Authorization to Discharge 
 

The Secretary may revoke or suspend, in whole or in part, authorization to discharge under this permit 
in accord with Section 13.12 C.6 (General Permit Rules) of the Vermont Water Pollution Control 
Permit Regulations.  

 
N.   Right of Entry 
 

The permittee shall allow the Secretary or his/her authorized representative, upon presentation of 
credentials to: 

 
1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a discharge is located or in which any records are 

required to be kept under the terms and conditions of this permit; and 
 

2. At any time inspect the site and sample any discharge or receiving waters, and at reasonable 
times have access to and copy any records required to be kept under the terms and 
conditions of this permit. 

 
O.   Property Rights 
 

Issuance of this permit does not convey any property rights in either real or personal property, or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private property or any invasion of personal 
rights. 
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P. Federal, State or Local Laws 
 

Issuance of this permit does not authorize any infringement of Federal, State or local laws or 
regulations. This permit does not convey authorization to conduct any activity within wetlands 
including but not limited to: clearing, grading, excavation, placement of temporary or permanent 
erosion and sediment control structures, or any other activity required by this permit.  Any such 
activity within a wetland may require a conditional use determination pursuant 10 V.S.A. Section 
905(b) and/or a permit pursuant to Section 404 of the federal Clean Water Act or both. 
 
This permit does not authorize any discharge or activity which could adversely affect threatened or 
endangered species protected under the federal Endangered Species Act, which could constitute the 
taking of threatened or endangered species pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 123, or which could 
jeopardize conservations program established by the Secretary under 10 V.S.A. Chapter 123. 

 
Q.    Need to Halt or Reduce Activity not a Defense 
 

It shall not be a defense for the permittee in an enforcement action that it would have been necessary 
to halt or reduce the permitted activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this 
permit. 

 
R.    Oil and Hazardous Substance Liability 
 

Nothing in this permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of legal action or relieve the 
permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities or penalties to which the permittee is or may be subject 
under 10 V.S.A. Section 1281. 

 
S.   Penalty for Permit Violation 
 

10 V.S.A. Section 1275(a) provides that: 
 

"Any person who violates any provision of this subchapter or who fails, neglects or refuses to obey or 
comply with any order or the terms of any permit issued in accordance with this subchapter, shall be 
fined not more than $25,000.00 or be imprisoned not more than six months, or both.  Each violation 
may be a separate offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, each day's continuance may be 
deemed a separate offense." 

 
       10 V.S.A. Section 8010(c) provides that: 
 

"A penalty of not more than $25,000.00 may be assessed for each determination of violation. In      
addition, if the secretary determines that a violation is continuing the secretary may assess a penalty of 
not more than $10,000.00 for each day the violation continues. The maximum amount of penalty 
assessed under this subsection shall not exceed $100,000.00." 

 
T.    Penalty for False Statement 
 

10 V.S.A. Section 1275 (b) provides that: 
 

"Any person who knowingly makes any false statement, representation or certification in any 
application, record, report, plan, or other document filed or required to be maintained under this 
subchapter, or by any permit, rule, regulation or order issued under this subchapter, or who falsifies, 
tampers with, or knowingly renders inaccurate any monitoring device or method required to be 
maintained under this subchapter or by any permit, rule, regulation, or order issued under this 
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subchapter, shall upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than $10,000.00 or by 
imprisonment for not more than six months, or by both". 

 
U.    Authority 

 
This permit is issued under authority of 10 V.S.A. §1259 which states that: "No person shall 
discharge any waste, substance, or material into waters of the State, nor shall any person 
discharge any waste, substance, or material into an injection well or discharge into a publicly 
owned treatment works any waste which interferes with, passes through without treatment, or is 
otherwise incompatible with those works or would have a substantial adverse effect on those 
works or on water quality, without first obtaining a permit for that discharge from the Secretary", 
and under the authority of Section 402 of the Clean Water Act, as amended. 
 

V.   Appeal Rights  
 

Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 220, any appeal of this decision must be filed with the clerk of the 
Environmental Court within 30 days of the date of the decision.  The appellant must attach to the 
Notice of Appeal the entry fee of $225.00, payable to the state of Vermont.  The Notice of 
Appeal must specify the parties taking the appeal and the statutory provision under which each 
party claims party status; must designate the act or decision appealed from; must name the 
Environmental Court; and must be signed by the appellant or their attorney.  In addition, the 
appeal must give the address or location and description of the property, project or facility with 
which the appeal is concerned and the names of the applicant or any permit involved in the 
appeal.  The appellant must also serve a copy of the Notice of Appeal in accordance with Rule 
5(b)(4)(B) of the Vermont Rules for Environmental Court Proceedings.  For further information, 
see the Vermont Rules for Environmental Court Proceedings, available on line at 
www.vermontjudiciary.org.  The address for the Environmental Court is 2418 Airport Road, 
Suite 1, Barre, VT  05641 (802)828-1660. 
 
 
This permit shall become effective on October 1, 2012 and shall expire on September 30, 2017.  
An authorization to discharge under this general permit shall be valid for five years. 

 
State of Vermont 
Agency of Natural Resources  
 
David K. Mears, Commissioner 
Department of Environmental Conservation 
 
BY: 
 
 
 
 
Peter LaFlamme, Director 
Watershed Management Division 
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