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(Sandra J. Milburn/The Hutchinson News) Jerry and Georgla \/IcGomg,le didn’t know
responsible for anywhere from $900.000 to more than S1 million in dam rehabilitation.

lake’s edge.

Hutchinson homeowners surprised with $900,000 bill for dam
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Massachusetts Town Center Evacuated Over Dam Break Fears
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Officials still fear dam collapse

Break in Massachusetts could leave town under 8 feet of water

TAUNTON, Massachusetts {CNN) -- Water pouring through a 173-year-old wooden dam protecting
Taunton has placed increasing strain on the structure, and officials said Tuesday they fear it could
collapse.

"If the dam were to break . we will see rising floodwaters in downtown Taunton,” Mayor Robert
Munes told reporters. "We are monitoring the situation minute-by-minute







New York Dam Safety Regulations Part 673
673.11 Notices of Property Transfer
(for dams > 15 feet high or > 3 million gallon impoundment):

(1) Prior to the signing of a contract of sale ... the dam owner shall provide the
prospective U\“er. or transferee a materially complete narrative
description of the dam and its appurtenant works, and the specific location
(latitude and longitude) thereof.

(2) Notice of Turnover of Records by Seller or Transferor. No later than the date of
transfer of the property or rights therein, the dam owner shall provide the
buyer or transferee with copies of all records that are and were subject to
the recordkeeping requirements of this Part. The records shall be accompanied
b?/ a certification, signed in accordance with section 673.8(d) of this Part, that
all available records required by this Part to be maintained for said dam have
been turned over.

(3) Notice by Buyer or Transferee. No later than the date of transfer of the
property or rights therein, the dam owner who is the buyer or transferee shall
send written notification of the property transfer to both (i) the
department's Dam Safety Section, and (ii) the municipality or municipalities in
which the dam is located. The notification shall: describe the dam and its
appurtenant works; provide the location (latitude and longitude) of the dam;
and include a certification, signed in accordance with section 673.8(d) of this
Part, as to the name(s), mailing address(es), and a telephone number capable
of contacting the dam owner(s) who is the buyer or transferee.




Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 31: Regulation of
Dams and Bridges Affecting Navigable Waters

31.14 (3) (b) the applicant...will not convey the dam to another

| W|thout first obtamlng department approval




MA CMR 302 10.07: Dam Inspections

o §2) The owner shall periodically inspect all dams in accordance with the
ollowing schedule...(every two years for high hazard, every 5 years for
significant hazard, and every ten years for low hazard). High and Significant
Hazard potential dams whose condition are determined to be poor and/or
emergency by formal inspection must be inspected and reported on at least
every six months by a registered professional engineer employed by the
owner until the dam safety repairs are completed and the dam is found to be
in satisfactory condition. Any dam determined to be in an unsafe condition
must be monitored at frequencies assuring the safety of the public. Updates
on the condition of the dam shall be provided by a registered professional
engineer to the Office of Dam Safety and local emergency management
officials until the dam is made safe.

(6) The owner shall employ the services of a registered professional
engineer experienced in the design, construction and inspection of dams, to
inspect the owner's dam according to the inspection schedules...

#7) The owner shall furnish a copy of each completed inspection report in a
ormat determined by the Commissioner within 30 days of the inspection to
the Commissioner.

(9) The owner must submit a statement of his or her intent to implement
such recommendations of the registered professional engineer, if required.




New Hampshire Law Chapter 482
Section 482:8(a): Annual Registration Fee.

Annual registration fees for dams shall be payable to the
department on January 1 of each calendar year. Yearly dam
registration fees shall be based on classification as follows:
Low hazard potential = $400; Significant hazard potential =

$750; High hazard potential = $1,500.

(d) Notices sent pursuant to (b) and (c), above, shall include
whatever information the department has relative to the tax
map and lot number of the dam and the volume and page
number of the deed to the dam and to the property on which
the dam is located, if different. At the time of paying the
annual registration fee, the owner shall confirm or, if
necessary, provide or correct the information.




Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 31: Regulation of
Dams and Bridges Affecting Navigable Waters

31.185 Dam abandonment and 31.253 Dam removal

Owners cannot abandon, remove, alter or transfer ownership of
a dam without a permit. If there is an objection to the
application for a permit the department will wait 120 days
and then grant or deny the permit unless a municipality or
person agrees to buy the dam and provides proof of ability to
maintain the dam according to 31.14 (2) or (3).




Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 31:

31.14 Proof of ability to maintain dams required.

(2) Except as provided in sub. (3), a permit shall not be granted
under s. 31.06, 31.08 or 31.13: (a) Unless the applicant
furnishes to the department proof of ability to operate and
maintain the dam in good condition, either by the creation of
a special assessment district under ss. 31.38 and 66.0703, or
by any other means which in the department’s judgment will
give reasonable assurance that the dam will be maintained
for a reasonable period of time not less than 10 years...




Wisconsin Regulations NR 333

333.09 Financial aésurance.

(1)(a) Except as provided in par. (b), the owner of a dam shall file a
bond, escrow account, lien or other financial assurance satisfactory
to the department prior to the commencement of construction or
reconstruction of the dam. The amount of such financial assurance
shall equal the estimated cost of removing the dam and
restoring the stream channel to its natural condition or the cost
of constructing or reconstructin%the dam, whichever is less, based
on the cost estimate submitted by the owner under s. NR 333.05

(3).

(b) Where the owner is a state or interstate agency or a city,
county, village, special purpose district or other unit of government,
financial assurance is not required if the owner demonstrates to the
department’s satisfaction that it has made or will make sufficient
funds available to construct or reconstruct the dam or to remove the
dam and restore the stream channel it its natural condition,
whichever is less expensive.




MA 302 CMR Dam Safety 10.15 Schedule of Fees and Fines

(4) Filges for Non-compliance with the Following Requirements (but not necessarily limited
to):

(a) Failgrs%gooréagister a dam with the Office of Dam Safety and the Registry of Deeds willresult in fines up
to .00. : : : .

(b) Failure to notify the Office of Dam Safety of the transfer of a dam from one owner to another will result

~in fines up to $500.00. _ _ _

(c) Failure of the owners of "HIGH HAZARD POTENTIAL"” dams and newly constructed "SIGNIFICANT
HAZARD POTENTIAL" dams to provide up to date EMERGENCY ACTION PLANS to the Office of Dam
Safety ‘and the Massachusetts EmergencyManagement Agency will result in fines up to $500.00.

(d) Failure of the owners to comply with the conditions of a Chapter 253 Dam Safety Permit will result in
fines up to $500.00.

(e) Failure of the owners to provide the Office of Dam Safety with an Inspection Report that is in
compliance as to content and frequency of inspection as provided for in 302 CMR 10.00 will result in
fines up to $500.00. - - - -

(f) Failure of an owner to obtain a Chapter 253 Dam Safety Permit prior to performing any dam work such
as alteration, breach, removal or substantial repairs will result in fines up to $500.00. :

Each violation shall be a separate and distinct offense and, in case of a continuing
violation, each day's continuance thereof shall be deemed to be a separate and
distinct offense.




Wisconsin Regulations NR 333
333.04 Compliance schedules.

(2)(a) New dams. The design and construction of all new dams shall be in
compliance with the requirements of this chapter.

(b) Existing dams. The owners of all existing dams shall bring their dams into
compliance with the requirements of this chapter within 10 years after
being notified of the dam’s hazard rating pursuant to sub. (1), unless
ordered to do so earlier under s. 31.19 (5), Stats.

333.07

(2) arI]I proposed and existing dams shall have the minimum hydraulic capacity
shown:

Hazard Rating Minimum Principal Minimum Total
Spillway Capacity Spillway Capacity

Low _ _ Q10 _ Q100

Significant Q50 Q500

High Q100 Q1000




